Monthly Archives: May 2015

May, 2015

Re-Engineering News

Thanks to an outpouring of support from FHSU faculty and staff members, the Graduate School will remain a centralized unit serving the 21 graduate programs at Fort Hays State University. The results of Phase I of the university Re-Engineering process was announced to the university on April 21, 2015. Dr. Tim Crowley will remain as the Dean of the Graduate School and the current office will remain as is in its current office location. Two changes do effect the unit, however. The Office of Scholarship and Sponsored Projects (OSSP) and staff member Leslie Paige will report now to the new position of Associate Provost for Faculty Affairs. Dr. Crowley’s Assistant Provost for Internationalization title will no longer be in effect beginning June 7, 2015 as all international education duties will be assumed by a newly created position of Associate Provost for International Programs. Dr. Crowley will assume responsibility for the Honors College, Liberal Education, and catalog/course management duties for the university.

Graduate School Honors Ceremony

1 BI5A1265 BI5A1266 BI5A1267 BI5A1268 BI5A1269 BI5A1270 BI5A1272 BI5A1273 BI5A1274 BI5A1275 BI5A1276

Faculty, staff, and students gathered on May 13, 2015 to honor outstanding graduate students for the 2014-2015. A group of 25 graduate students and 3 faculty advisors were honored for outstanding achievement and service to the Graduate School. President Martin addressed the gathering with encouraging words and indicated a bright future for graduate education at FHSU. Here is a full list of awardees:

Outstanding MBA Achievement Award
Rachel Frische
Jay Connelly
Jill Moeder
Brandi Obermueller
Kevin Brousson
Jeremy Hacker
Lexie Xiaomeng Lin
David White
Outstanding MLS Culminating Experience Concentration
Dongya Qu IEL
Julie Maranto Humanities
Serena Garcia Social Sciences
Jiawei Dong Global Management
Stephen Combs Humanities
Outstanding GTA Award Degree Program
Adam Armijo Psychology
Kevin Kenney Psychology
Garrett Nathan SLP
Blake Roth SLP
Jackie Kelei Zhang MPS
Lincoln Mohler MBA
Kevin Brousson MBA
Jill Moeder MBA
Ryan Gress HHP
Andrew Gannon HHP
Outstanding Thesis/Field Study/MFA Catalog
Phillip Paul Robbins Psychology
Courtney McCue Psychology
Outstanding Graduate Faculty Advisor
Dr. Robert Meier Informatics
Dr. Jenny Manry Nursing
Mr. Glen McNeil HHP

2015 Commencement Ceremonies


Fort Hays State University celebrated it’s 112th Commencement ceremonies on May 15 and 16. 2015. Approximately 250 graduate students were hooded by Dr. Crowley. The May 15 ceremony included candidates from the Colleges of Business and Entrepreneurship and Health and Life Sciences. The May 16 ceremony included candidates from the College of Arts and Sciences and Education and Technology. We estimate approximately 500 graduate degrees will be cleared by June 1, 2015 from Summer, 2014-Fall, 2014-Spring, 2015.

KBOR Approves Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) Degree Program

At the May 20, 2015 Kansas Board of Regents meeting, FHSU’s proposal for a Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) program was approved. This is the first doctoral program in the university’s history and represents a significant achievement milestone. Program leader Dr. Jenny Manry and Nursing department chair Dr. Christine Hober spent many hours of work this year on this project. Applications for admission to this program will begin to be accepted in January, 2016 with the first cohort of students beginning their studies in the Summer, 2016 session. Please contact Dr. Jenny Manry with additional inquiries.


Leave a comment

Filed under News